Training Programs Achieve UCNS Accreditation

6-2-2020 The United Council for Neurologic Subspecialties (UCNS) is pleased to announce the names of six newly accredited UCNS fellowship training programs. Programs attaining UCNS accreditation status offer the core curriculum established by the subspecialty and meet required quality standards established by UCNS.

Accreditation is a voluntary process of evaluation and peer review based on UCNS accreditation standards. Fellows who complete a UCNS-accredited program meet the training eligibility requirements to apply for certification in the subspecialty. There are now 208 UCNS-accredited training programs in UCNS-recognized subspecialties. UCNS congratulates the following programs and their program directors in achieving UCNS accreditation effective June 1, 2020.

Program  Program Director 
Behavioral Neurology & Neuropsychiatry 
Barrow Neurologic Institute at St. Joseph’s Hospital and Medical Center   Meredith Wicklund, MD
Headache Medicine 
University of Texas at Austin/Ascension-Dell Medical School  William Qubty, MD 
Neurocritical Care   
Houston Methodist Hospital  Anh Nguyen, MD 
Mercy Hospital at St. Louis  Farid Sadaka, MD 
Tulane University  Aimee Aysenne, MD, MPH 
University of New Mexico  Diana Greene-Chandos, MD 

Training programs interested in applying for accreditation will find application and program requirement information for each subspecialty under “Accreditation” at Applications received by the December 1, 2020 deadline will be reviewed for accreditation in the spring of 2021.