Training Programs Achieve UCNS Accreditation

12-2-2020 The United Council for Neurologic Subspecialties (UCNS) is pleased to announce the names of five newly accredited UCNS fellowship training programs. Programs attaining UCNS accreditation status offer the core curriculum established by the subspecialty and meet required quality standards established by UCNS.

Accreditation is a voluntary process of evaluation and peer review based on UCNS accreditation standards. Fellows who complete a UCNS-accredited program meet the training eligibility requirements to apply for certification in the subspecialty. There are now 210 UCNS-accredited training programs in UCNS-recognized subspecialties. UCNS congratulates the following programs and their program directors in achieving UCNS accreditation effective December 1, 2020.

Program  Program Director 
 Autonomic Disorders
Vanderbilt University Medical Center  Cyndya A. Shibao, MD, MSCI 
Behavioral Neurology & Neuropsychiatry 
Houston Methodist Hospital  Joseph C. Masdeu, MD, PhD 
Headache Medicine
University of California, Los Angeles  Chelsea Hesterman, MD 
Oregon Health and Science University  Juliette Preston, MD 
Washington University/Barnes Jewish Hospital/St. Louis Children’s Hospital Consortium   Milan G. Chheda, MD

Training programs interested in applying for accreditation will find application and program requirement information for each subspecialty under “Accreditation” at Applications received by the June 1, 2021 deadline will be reviewed for accreditation in the fall of 2021.