Training Programs Achieve UCNS Accreditation

6-1-2021 The United Council for Neurologic Subspecialties (UCNS) is pleased to announce the names of eight newly accredited UCNS fellowship training programs. Programs attaining UCNS accreditation status offer the core curriculum established by the subspecialty and meet required quality standards established by UCNS.

Accreditation is a voluntary process of evaluation and peer review based on UCNS accreditation standards. Fellows who complete a UCNS-accredited program meet the training eligibility requirements to apply for certification in the subspecialty. There are now 218 UCNS-accredited training programs in UCNS-recognized subspecialties. UCNS congratulates the following programs and their program directors in achieving UCNS accreditation effective June 1, 2021.

Program Program Director 
Behavioral Neurology & Neuropsychiatry  
University of Calgary   Brienne McLane, MD, FRCPC, MSC 
University of Chicago  James Mastrianni, MD, PhD 
Wake Forest Baptist Medical Center  James R. Bateman, III, MD, MPH
Lahey Hospital and Medical Center  Laura T. Safar, MD 
Headache Medicine   
University of Florida Health Shands  Yulia Orlova, MD 
Neurocritical Care   
University of Nebraska Medical Center  Daryl R. Gress, MD 
Westchester Medical Center  Stephan A. Mayer, MD 
Cedars-Sinai Medical Center  Jethro L. Hu, MD 

Training programs interested in applying for accreditation will find application and program requirement information for each subspecialty under “Accreditation” at Applications received by the December 1, 2021 deadline will be reviewed for accreditation in the spring of 2022.