Examination Committees

Examination committee members are subject matter experts who are appointed by the subspecialty's sponsoring organization(s). Find out how to get involved on a UCNS subspecialty certification examination committee. 

Autonomic Disorders

  • Elizabeth Coon, MD, Chair, Mayo Clinic Rochester
  • Satish R. Raj, MD, MSCI, Vice Chair, Health Research Innovation Centre
  • Gisela Chelimsky, MD, Medical College of Wisconsin
  • Melissa Cortez, DO, University of Utah
  • Elisabeth Golden, MD, UT Southwestern
  • Srikanth Muppidi, MD, Stanford Neuroscience Health Center
  • Amanda Peltier, MD, Vanderbilt University Medical Center
  • Nathaniel Robbins, MD, Geisel School of Medicine
  • Kamal Shouman, MD, Mayo Clinic Rochester
  • Howard Snapper, MD, WellStar Medical Group

Behavioral Neurology & Neuropsychiatry

  • Robin A. Hurley, MD, Chair, Wake Forest School of Medicine
  • Kyle Steinman, MD, MAS, Vice Chair, University of Washington/Seattle Children's Hospital
  • James R. Bateman, III, MD, Wake Forest School of Medicine
  • Lindsey Gurin, MD, NYU Pearl Barlow Center for Memory Evaluation and Treatment
  • Colin J. Harrington, MD, Rhode Island Hospital
  • Samantha K. Holden, MD, University of Colorado School of Medicine
  • Mandana Modirrousta, MD, PhD, FRCPC, Saint Boniface Hospital
  • Michael Schrift, DO, MA,  Northwestern University Feinberg School of Medicine
  • Jonathan H. Woodcock, MD, University of Colorado – Anschutz Medical Campus

Clinical Neuromuscular Pathology

  • Mazen Mohammad Dimachkie, MD, Chair, University of Kansas Medical Center
  • Michelle L. Mauermann, MD, Vice Chair, Mayo Clinic Rochester
  • Anthony A. Amato, MD, Brigham and Women’s Hospital
  • Ahmed Mohamed Attia El-Dokla, MD, SUNY Upstate Medical University    
  • Rocio Carolina Garcia Santibanez, MD, Emory Healthcare
  • Raghav Govindarajan, MD, St. Elizabeth Medical Group
  • Mohamed Kazamel, MD, University of Alabama at Birmingham
  • Shailani Mahajan, MD, Cedars-Sinai Medical Center
  • Margherita Milone, MD, PhD, Mayo Clinic Rochester
  • Aziz Shaibani, MD,  Baylor College of Medicine

Headache Medicine

  • Jerry Swanson, MD, Chair, Mayo Clinic Rochester
  • Robert Kaniecki, MD, Vice Chair, The Headache Center
  • Hossein Ansari, MD, Kaizen Brain Center
  • Thomas Berk, MD, NYU Langone Health
  • Debra G. Davis, MD, LSU Health
  • P. Christopher H. Gottschalk, MD, Yale Neurology Group
  • Stephanie J. Nahas, MD, Thomas Jefferson University
  • Christopher B. Oakley, MD, Johns Hopkins University
  • Nina Riggins, MD, University of California San Diego

Interventional Neurology

  • Camilo R. Gomez, MD, MBA, Chair, University of Missouri Medical Center
  • Alberto Maud, MD, Vice Chair, Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center El Paso
  • Norman Ajiboye, MD, Memorial Healthcare System
  • Steve M. Cordina, MD, University of South Alabama
  • Elie Elliot Dancour, MD, Vassar Brothers Medical Center-Nuvance Health
  • Ashutosh P. Jadhav, MD, PhD, Barrow Brain and Spine
  • Nazli (Sophia) Janjua, MD,  Pomona Valley Hospital Medical Center
  • Rakesh Khatri, MD,  Lutheran Hospital
  • Sunil A. Sheth, MD, UT Health McGovern Medical School

Neonatal Neurocritical Care

  • Christopher D. Smyser, MD, Chair, Washington University School of Medicine
  • Alexa K. Craig, MD, MsC, MS, Vice Chair, Harvard Medical School
  • Catherine J. Chu, MD, Harvard Medical School
  • Dawn L. Gano, MD, MAS, University of California, San Francisco
  • Terrie E. Inder, MD, Brigham and Women's Hospital
  • Sarah B. Mulkey, MD, PhD, Children's National Hospital
  • Andrea C. Pardo, MD, Northwestern University Feinberg School of Medicine
  • Anna A. Penn, MD, PhD, Columbia University
  • Mark S. Scher, MD, University Hospitals Case Medical Center
  • Emily Wing Tun Tam, MD, University of California, San Francisco
  • Charu Ventkatesan, MD, PhD, Cincinnati Children's Hospital
  • Michael D. Weiss, MD, UF Health Shands Children's Hospital

Neurocritical Care

  • Marin Darsie, MD, Chair, University of Wisconsin
  • Bradley Dengler, MD, Vice Chair, Walter Reed National Military Medical Center
  • Marc-Alain Babi, MD, University of Florida
  • Wan Tsu Wendy Chang, MD, University of Maryland School of Medicine
  • Sayona John, MD, Rush University Medical Center
  • Lauren Koffman, DO, Lewis Katz School of Medicine at Temple University
  • Sarah D. Nelson, MD, MPH, Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai
  • Ivan Rocha Ferreira da Silva, MD, Rush University Medical Center
  • Michael J. Schneck, MD, Loyola University Medical Center
  • Chethan P. Venkatasubba Rao, MD, Baylor College of Medicine


  • Jerome Graber, MD, Chair, Alvord Brain Tumor Center
  • Jennifer W. McVige, MD, Vice Chair, Dent Neurologic Institute
  • Carmel Armon, MD, MHS, Tel Aviv University Sackler School of Medicine
  • Jon Y. Choi, MD, PhD, Walter Reed National Military Medical Center
  • Alireza Faridar, MD, Houston Methodist Neurological Institute
  • Dimitrios Giannakidis, MD, Sutter West Bay Medical Group
  • Gregory Kapinos, MD, MS, NYC Health + Hospitals
  • Mohammad Obadah Nakawah, MD, Houston Methodist Neurological Institute
  • Gustavo J. Rodriguez, MD, Paul L. Foster School of Medicine
  • Catherine A. Weymann-McKinney, MD, Piedmont HealthCare - Lake Norman Neurology


  • Christian Grommes, MD, Chair, Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center
  • Andrea Wasilewski, MD, Vice Chair, Givens Brain Tumor Center
  • David M. Cachia, MD, UMass Memorial Medical Center
  • Heather E. Leeper, MD, University of Chicago
  • Douglas E. Ney, MD, University of Colorado School of Medicine
  • Lauren Schaff, MD, Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center
  • Roy E. Strowd, III, MD, MEd, Wake Forest School of Medicine
  • Joon Uhm, MD, Mayo Clinic Rochester

Staff Contacts

Todd Bulson, Senior Manager Certification
[email protected]
(612) 928-6067

Bryan Hagerla, Continuous Certification Manager
[email protected]
(612) 928-6326