Training Programs Achieve UCNS Accreditation

06-01-2023 The United Council for Neurologic Subspecialties (UCNS) is pleased to announce the names of four newly accredited UCNS fellowship training programs. Programs attaining UCNS accreditation status offer the core curriculum established by the subspecialty and meet required quality standards established by UCNS.

Accreditation is a voluntary process of evaluation and peer review based on UCNS accreditation standards. Fellows who complete a UCNS-accredited program meet the training eligibility requirements to apply for certification in the subspecialty. There are now  237 UCNS-accredited training programs in UCNS-recognized subspecialties. UCNS congratulates the following programs and their program directors in achieving UCNS accreditation effective June 1, 2023.

Program  Program Director 
Headache Medicine
University of Alabama, Birmingham Emily Schlitz Fortenberry, MD
University of Pennsylvania Seniha Ozudogru, MD
Interventional Neurology
Wright State University Esteban Cheng-Ching, MD
Neurocritical Care  
Wright State University  Gnan Thakore, MD

Training programs interested in applying for accreditation will find application and program requirement information for each subspecialty under Accreditation at Applications received by the July 31, 2023, deadline will be reviewed for accreditation in the fall of 2023.