Continuing Medical Education Requirements for Transition to Continuous Certification

Diplomates must attest to meeting the subspecialty-specific continuing medical education (CME) requirements for lifelong learning activities during the time-limited period of their certificate as outlined in the table below. Only the subspecialty-specific CME credits earned between a diplomate's initial certification date and the attestation deadline are acceptable. Diplomates who attest that all subspecialty-specific CME requirements have been met by December 31, 2019 will be transitioned to C-cert and their certification status will be listed as Certified – Meeting Requirements until December 2020, at which time certification status updates will be made to reflect compliance with meeting the the annual C-cert requirements for 2020.

If there are questions about what topics are considered to be subspecialty specific, diplomates may use their subspecialty examination content outline as a guide for acceptable CME topics. 

UCNS reserves the right to request documentation that supports a diplomate’s CME attestation. Diplomates must provide the documentation within 30 days of the request.

Diplomates are not required to attest to or submit documentation for any non-subspecialty CME credits.

Diplomates who do not meet or attest to the subspecialty CME requirement prior to December 31, 2019 will have their certification status listed as Certified – Not Meeting Requirements until all requirements are met per the policy. Attestations will be accepted after December 31, 2019 and status updates will be done weekly.

CME Transition Requirements

 Year of Initial Certification
or Recertification
Subspecialty-Specific AMA PRA Category 1 CreditsTM
Required Prior to 12/31/2019 
 2010 54
 2011 48
 2013 36
 2014 30
 2015 24
 2016 N/A
 2017 N/A
 2018 N/A
 2019 N/A

CME totals are prorated based on 60 subspecialty CME credits expected during previous 10-year certification model.

Staff Contact

Todd Bulson, Senior Manager Certification
(612) 928-6067

Becky Swanson, Operations and Executive Office Manager
(612) 928-6050