Continuing Medical Education Requirements for Transition to Continuous Certification

Qualifying Subspecialty CME Credits

Diplomates may use their UCNS subspecialty examination content outline as a guide for acceptable CME topics. Non-subspecilaty CME credits should not be included as part of the CME attestation total.

UCNS reserves the right to request documentation that supports a diplomate's CME attestation. Diplomates must provide the documentation within 30 days of the request.

CME Transition Requirements

 Year of Initial Certification
or Recertification
Subspecialty-Specific AMA PRA Category 1 CreditsTM
Required if not attested prior to 2021 
 2010 54
 2011 48
 2013 36
 2014 30
 2015 24
 2016 N/A
 2017 N/A
 2018 N/A
 2019 N/A

CME totals are prorated based on 60 subspecialty CME credits expected during previous 10-year certification model.

Staff Contact

Bryan Hagerla, Continuous Certification Manager
(612) 928-6326

Becky Swanson, Operations and Executive Office Manager
(612) 928-6050