United Council for Nuerologic Subspecialties


New and Recertified UCNS Diplomates Announced

The UCNS is pleased to announce the names of the physicians who passed the 2018 UCNS Autonomic Disorders, Behavioral Neurology & Neuropsychiatry, Headache Medicine, and Neurocritical Care examinations.

A total of 142 physicians became UCNS-certified diplomates upon completion of the certification examinations, demonstrating their expert knowledge in the subspecialty area. In addition, 118 physicians recertified in their subspecialty area, demonstrating their commitment to life-long learning by meeting the continuing medical education and subspecialty knowledge requirements necessary to maintain their certification. There are currently 48 physician Diplomates certified in Autonomic Disorders, 407 certified in Behavioral Neurology & Neuropsychiatry, 570 in Headache Medicine, and 1,337 in Neurocritical Care. A complete list of UCNS diplomates is available in the Diplomate directory.

Fellowship Programs Achieve UCNS-Accreditation Status

Four new fellowship training programs achieved accreditation effective December 1. Programs attaining UCNS accreditation status offer the core curriculum established by the subspecialty and meet required quality standards established by the UCNS. Accreditation is a voluntary process of evaluation and peer review based on UCNS accreditation standards. Fellows who complete a UCNS-accredited program meet the training eligibility requirements to apply for certification in the subspecialty. There are now 201 UCNS-accredited training programs in UCNS-recognized neurologic subspecialties.

UCNS Accreditation Applications Due June 1

Applications are now being accepted until June 1, 2019, from programs seeking accreditation in any of the nine UCNS-recognized neurologic subspecialty areas. New applications received by the June 1 deadline will be reviewed for approval in the fall of 2019. The next deadline for program applications will be December 1, 2019, for a spring 2020 application review. To begin the accreditation application process, programs must first request access to the online application. Additional information and training program requirements are available in the accreditation hyperlinks above for each subspecialty or by contacting Amanda Carpenter, Senior Manager, Accreditation at acarpenter@ucns.org or (612) 928- 6065.


UCNS Embarks on Development of New Continuous Certification Model

With the changing landscape of maintenance of certification (MOC), alternative models for recertification are emerging. The UCNS Board of Directors focused their recent strategic planning session on evaluating the UCNS recertification process. After careful evaluation of alternative models of MOC and feedback obtained through a survey of UCNS diplomates, the UCNS will embark on the development of a new continuous certification model that aligns with life-long learning and online knowledge assessment. Preliminary information is available in the official press release.

UCNS Certification Recognition Resources Now Available

Promote your UCNS certification using new certification recognition resources. UCNS diplomates will find useful tools to educate the medical community, referral sources, institutions, and patients on the value of their UCNS neurologic subspecialty certification: