United Council for Nuerologic Subspecialties


Board of Directors

The UCNS Board of Directors has nine voting members. The five parent organizations have permanent seats with one vote each. The four other seats are for representatives of UCNS member subspecialties sitting on a rotating basis. Meetings of the UCNS Board are attended by representatives of the Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education and the American Board of Psychiatry and Neurology serving as "liaisons." In addition, the executive directors of the parent organizations attend meetings in an ex officio capacity. The UCNS Board oversees an Accreditation Council and Certification Council.


  • Ralph F. Józefowicz, MD, FAAN, Chair
  • David J. Fink, MD, FAAN, Vice Chair
  • Robert J. Baumann, MD, FAAN, Secretary/Treasurer
  • José Biller, MD, FAAN, FACP, FAHA
  • Paul G Fisher, MD, MHS
  • Joy Snider, MD
  • Michael L. James, MD, FAHA, FNCS
  • Barbara Schildkrout, MD
  • Patrick M. Capone, MD, PhD

Non–Voting Subspecialty Representatives

  • Noah Rosen, MD, FAHS
  • Mazen Dimachkie, MD, FAAN, FANA
  • Paola Sandroni, MD, PhD, FAAN
  • Alexander W. Dromerick, MD
  • Jaishri Blakeley, MD

Ex Officio Non–voting Directors

  • JoAnn Taie
  • Roger Larson
  • Nadine Goldberg, PhD, MS
  • Catherine M. Rydell, CAE

Board Liaisons

  • Laurie Gutmann, MD (ACGME)
  • Steven L. Lewis, MD, FAAN (ABPN)

Executive Director

General Counsel